New Redemption Grab Bag now includes a random FoOF or RoA pack! Available at Cactus website.
...and I mean to get it changed.
if I'm immune and banded, can they negate my banding?
Also, why should the fact the 12 fingers' ability is CBN mean anything? There's nothing trying to negate 12 Fingers' Ability.
Here is the scenario that was in the PoA discussion about negating a band. Cherubim bands to ET and Protection of Angels is played.Twelve-Fingered Giant is used to block.The question was "Does TFG negate the band?"after a long discussion the Official Answer was "Yes."CherubimType: Hero Char. • Brigade: Silver • Ability: 5 / 5 • Class: None • Special Ability: May band to any Purple Brigade Hero. • Identifiers: Generic OT Male Angel • Verse: Ezekiel 10:14 •Ethiopian TreasurerType: Hero Char. • Brigade: Purple • Ability: 5 / 4 • Class: None • Special Ability: Search own draw pile or discard pile for one Bible icon with no special abilities. Holder may play the next enhancement card. • Play As: Holder must search own draw pile or discard pile for one Bible icon with no special abilities and put it in hand. Holder may play the next enhancement card. • Identifiers: NT Male Human • Verse: Acts 8:27 • Protection of AngelsType: Hero Enh. • Brigade: Silver • Ability: 2 / 3 • Class: None • Special Ability: Interrupt the battle and protect all Heroes in play and set aside areas from evil cards until end of turn. • Identifiers: OT, Involves Music • Verse: Psalms 91:11 •The Twelve-Fingered GiantType: Evil Char. • Brigade: Black • Ability: 6 / 12 • Class: Warrior • Special Ability: Negate all banding abilities. Cannot be negated. • Identifiers: OT Male Giant (Human), Philistia, Fought Earthly Battle • Verse: I Chronicles 20:6 • In essence, TFGs "Negate all banding abilities" is attempting to target Cherubims banding to ET. Because TFGs 'Negate all banding abilities. Cannot be negated." SA, it essentianlly "punches a hole" through the protection and negates the band. If TFGs "Cannot Be Negated" part had been left off ot the card, TFG would attempt to target the band, but PoA would protect the band.General Description - Cannot Be Negated“Cannot be negated” is a combination of “cannot be interrupted” and “cannot be prevented” (see Cannot be Negated in the glossary of the rulebook [p. 41]). “Cannot be negated” specifically targets the negate special ability, the interrupt special ability, and the prevent special ability. “Cannot be negated” cannot be stopped.however, “Cannot be negated” abilities cannot be negated even by other “cannot be negated” abilities.
If TFGs "Cannot Be Negated" part had been left off ot the card, TFG would attempt to target the band, but PoA would protect the band.
I understand what you said, the part I don't understand or agree with is...Quote from: 777Godspeed on February 01, 2009, 05:24:15 PM If TFGs "Cannot Be Negated" part had been left off ot the card, TFG would attempt to target the band, but PoA would protect the band.Negate trumps Protect/Immune/Ignore unless the Protection ability is CBN. Why should TFG's Protection from being negated matter at all if nothing is trying to negate it?
Doesn't Jerusalem Tower win out over Confusion even though it's CBN?
TIn your scenario you're correct, JT does protect against Confusion because Protect trumps Cannot be Negated.
Quote from: Scottie_ffgamer on February 02, 2009, 03:00:29 AMDoesn't Jerusalem Tower win out over Confusion even though it's CBN?Not true. JT is a prevent, not a protect:
I play Grain Offering on Alter of Burnt Offering, and am immune to black. I RA with Caleb banded to Men of Judah. my advisary blocks with Twelve Fingered Giant. can he negate my banding?
Negate trumps immunity. The card works.
On this topic, what if its CBN immunity/Protection?
Side question: do you play the enhancements ON Altar of Burnt Offering, or through it? You still have to have a matching brigade character in your territory, right?Altar of Burnt OfferingType: Artifact • Brigade: None • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: You may play up to two offering Enhancements during your preparation phase. They activate immediately, and then are discarded.Grain OfferingType: Hero Enh. • Brigade: Teal • Ability: 2 / 5 • Class: None • Special Ability: All Heroes in play are immune to selected evil brigade this turn.
Side Answer: You do not need to have a character of matching brigade in territory to play an offering on Altar of Burnt Offerings.
bah humbug. *mumbles disagreements, but stays silent and accepts the ruling*
Quote from: Ring Wraith on February 02, 2009, 10:06:32 PMbah humbug. *mumbles disagreements, but stays silent and accepts the ruling*Trust me, on this ruling, you are grumbling at the wrong guy.
Quote from: JSB23 on February 03, 2009, 01:46:55 PMSide Answer: You do not need to have a character of matching brigade in territory to play an offering on Altar of Burnt Offerings.Altar of Burnt Offering does not allow a Hero to use an enhancement they wouldn't normally be able to use. For example, you could not use a teal offering on your green priest. There's nothing in the ability that allows characters to use enhancements of another brigade. Table of Showbread does but not Altar of Burnt Offering.